The Game’s Afoot (3)!

I’m still not getting any minis painted, even though I’m getting a lot cleaned up and prepared! So this is more of a post to say “Sorry All, I’m still here, you’re not getting off that lightly”! There’s nothing interesting in this post so don’t feel compelled to read any further!

It has been nearly two years (!) since I posted stuff about my 1880s Afghan army (you can see the last post here). I haven’t finished any more figures for it but I’ve made progress with preparing and organising them. In the last post I thought I’d got all the minis I needed cleaned up and stuck on MDF bases but then Osprey’s The Men Who Would Be Kings colonial wargames rules came along and I had a re-think (as you do). I decided to switch over to those rules with my Boxer Rebellion armies and was so pleased with how the rules worked that I decided to use them for all the games I play for the period 1880 to 1914. This has meant some re-organisation (but not much) and overall no significant increase in models has been required (I slightly scale down the number of troops in TMWWBK units to fit what I generally use anyway).

The bulk of reorganising has been spent on my Chinese forces and I’m happy with where they are heading, so I thought after that it was time to look at my Afghan forces. I’ve then followed that up by adding base texture to most of the unpainted minis and then priming them – you can see them in their box below (the previous post shows the minis displayed as individual units).

As far as changing units is concerned I’ve worked more around TMWWBK Afghan army list, dropping tribal cavalry and increasing the number of tribal infantry (“tribal” in the rules refers to the composition and fighting method of the units rather than their ethnicity). I’ve kept in the camel gun unit because I like it and it’s different although not an “official” unit and I’ve left it unprimed at the moment because it will probably be the last unit to be done. I still have the tribal cavalry minis stashed away, along with some extra figures to increase the unit size in line with TMWWBK, and I might do them in the future although, as you can see, the box is pretty full (I could get round that by maybe moving the oxen limber to another box).

Speaking of the limber, it is now based and primed properly along with the gun (blu-tacked in position here).

The picture above just shows some of the primed troops in a bit more detail (cavalry at the top, Highland Guard lower left and tribal infantry lower right). To get the troops I need for TMWWBK force ready I need to paint about 30 of the figures in the box, the other figures then giving me optional units or forces for larger games. Fortunately I have British Empire forces I can use along with some scenery so I just need to knuckle down and get some figures painted now!

27 comments

  1. Ha ha John you don’t get away with no comments about an empty post! Nice to read your logic and anyway before you get painting you need prepped figures so this painting hiatus would only be a concern if you were not prepping either. I look forward to the finished armies in action, tell me again is TMWWBK only good after 1880?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Lorenzo! πŸ™‚ Prepping continues! TMWWBK contains army lists from about 1840 through to 1890 and I reckon it’s OK up to 1914. Intended for colonial conflicts but I think it’s fine for others later in the period. The good thing is that it’s based around 24 point forces and contains lists across a range of conflicts (I could honestly be tempted by Sikh Wars forces).

      Liked by 1 person

        • TMWWBK should deal with 1848 in Europe but you would need to tweak it for some things I would imagine. It doesn’t let infantry form square but they can benefit from close order. I think cavalry are less vulnerable than they are in Neil Thomas’ rules though. TMWWBK works well with infantry small arms because it rates them as either modern rifle, obsolete rifle or antiquated firearm so you can represent them relative to their opponents without changing the rules.

          The other option would be Osprey’s Rebels and Patriots, which covers North American conflicts from the 1750s to the 1860s. It is for skirmishes so no infantry squares but close order is allowed. Cavalry are more limited than in Europe to light or shock cavalry. I’ve used Neil Thomas’ rules for the Paraguayan War and Mexican Adventure but I think I’m going to switch to Rebels and Patriots for small games. It contains 24 point army lists (including for the Mexican Adventure) and is similar but different to TMWWBK. When I first read Rebels and Patriots I didn’t think I’d use it but having re-read it I think it is well worth a try!

          Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s amazing how much time the organising and prep work can take up, but it’s just as important as the actual painting, and can actually save a lot of wasted time painting up models that are not needed ! LOL

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks Dave, you are absolutely right! I’ve put the tribal cavalry to one side and increased the number of tribal infantry, but we’re only talking six and eight figures respectively. I find that if I’ve got to the all-primed stage with figures I do tend to eventually get them finished at some point!

      Liked by 2 people

    • Actually, Eric, it was the same thing that got me moving along a bit with projects. πŸ™‚ Having worked out that I probably do have enough space in storage boxes I thought I might as well have a blast at getting some minis prepared and put into them! There are another two boxes that have suddenly “benefitted” from being filled with based and primed minis that outnumber the painted ones!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Definitely better to get the prep stage done and have lots of things to work on. I’m still impressed at how you figure out your storage beforehand. I guess that makes sense when you’re building armies. I really like how nice and organized your storage trays are too!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks Faust! πŸ™‚ To be honest, storage usually evolves over the life of a project. I have very few projects where one box holds the complete project and it’s been like that from the start. And, like nature, I abhor a vacuum, so I tend to bulk out small projects. I am pleased with where I’ve got to though, even if it’s decades in the making!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Drop me a line if you’ve got specific questions on how I think they may work for the 1840s! I know you’ve tried out a few rulesets evaluating the period. To be honest I was going to use Neil Thomas’ rules for all my 19th Century projects, but TMWWBK gives a good game with a few units and has points values for them all and I think Rebels and Patriots is maybe more suited to South and Central American conflicts.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Have to agree with you on all counts there, Dave! πŸ™‚ I reckon it can take me between 15 and 30 minutes per figure to go through all the prep stages I use just to get to a primed figure on a base ready for painting properly (OK, as properly as I can manage anyway)!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Zauberwurf! πŸ™‚ I think it was more a case of how many troops could I get in the box and I was lucky (!) I’d used one of the smaller boxes! πŸ˜‰ I think the Afghans mostly used horses or mules to pull artillery but I liked the look of the Irregular Miniatures Sikh Army gun and also got their oxen limber for something different!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Glad to hear I’m not the only one who’s not getting anything painted at the moment! You can’t beat a good sort out though can you – all those lost treasures waiting to be found!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Wudugast! πŸ™‚ To be honest I am painting stuff but not getting further than the priming stage, but at least it’s steady, if unspectacular, progress! I think I’ve got to the stage where there aren’t any lost treasures waiting to be found though, which I consider a good thing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment